VSP PREMIER ACADEMY360™ OFFERS NEW DIABETES CONTINUING EDUCATION EVENTS DURING HEALTHY VISION MONTH

HVM CE Event

RANCHO CORDOVA, Calif. – Today, the VSP VisionTM Premier Program announced new virtual diabetes education events in recognition of Healthy Vision Month. Throughout the month of May, VSP network doctors can earn two hours of complimentary COPE-accredited Continuing Education (CE) credit through Premier Academy360TM and achieve the American Diabetes Association® (ADA) Badge all in one convenient virtual session.

"Doctors of Optometry serve a critical role in providing comprehensive care to the more than 133 million Americans living with diabetes and prediabetes[1],” said VSP Vision Chief Growth Officer Michelle Skinner. “By continuing to offer new and engaging education by doctors, for doctors, we can better support the unique strengths of our network in offering specialized care for those living with diabetes, as well as those at risk for it."

Taking place across three time zones, the virtual events include all-new courses, two of which will be presented by highly sought-after speakers Jeffry Gerson, OD, FAAO and A. Paul Chous, OD, FAAO. Event courses include:

  • Essential Medical Eye Care: This course will provide an overview of how VSP has simplified its supplemental medical eye care coverage by creating a single plan that makes it easier for your practice to better leverage this coverage. 
  • Nutrition and Eye Health: This course covers nutritional influences on common ocular diseases affecting the posterior segment, including age-related macular degeneration, diabetic retinopathy, and glaucoma.*
  • Diabetes Case Reports: Boots-on-the-Ground: This course considers diabetes cases that are commonly encountered in optometric practice. Pearls for diagnosis, staging and management of diabetes related eye disease will be considered.*

Upon completion of the entire virtual event, if the practice has retinal imaging equipment, doctors will be eligible to receive the ADA Badge which is displayed alongside their practice listing on the VSP® Find a Doctor Directory on vsp.com. With hundreds of thousands of visitors monthly to the VSP Find a Doctor Directory[2], the ADA Badge offers a powerful way to stand out and highlight a practice’s commitment to connecting vision to the overall health of patients at-risk for, or living with diabetes. Earning the ADA Badge also entitles a practice to receive a complimentary, one-year membership to the ADA, which includes access to professional journals, significant discounts on events and course materials, networking opportunities, and more. 

Register Today!

Practices can register here for one of the three events:

  • Tuesday, May 3, 2022, 6-8:30 p.m. CDT (4-6:30 p.m. PDT; 7-9:30 p.m. EDT)
  • Tuesday, May 10, 2022, 6-8:30 p.m. EDT (3-5:30 p.m. PDT; 5-7:30 p.m. CDT)
  • Tuesday, May 17, 2022, 6-8:30 p.m. PDT (8-10:30 p.m. CDT; 9-11:30 p.m. EDT)

In addition to these ADA Badge events, VSP® Vision Care continues to serve as a Visionary Partner of Focus on DiabetesTM a multi-year initiative from the ADA that works to increase awareness of diabetes and eye health and promote the importance of annual eye exams.

*Courses presented by Dr. Gerson and Dr. Chous.

###

About VSP Vision

At VSP Vision, our purpose is to empower human potential through sight. As the first and only national not-for-profit vision benefits company, this is what drives everything we do. For more than 65 years, VSP has been the leader in health-focused vision care. Every day, the people who power our complementary businesses (VSP® Vision Care, Marchon® Eyewear, Inc., Visionworks®, Eyefinity®, Eyeconic®, VSP Optics, and VSP Ventures) work together to create a world where everyone can bring their best vision to life. That means providing affordable access to eye care and eyewear for more than 85 million members through a network of more than 41,000 doctors. And it means expanding access to vision care to those disadvantaged by income, distance, or disaster. Through VSP Eyes of Hope®, more than 3.6 million people in need have received no-cost eye care and eyewear. Learn more about how we’re reinvesting in greater vision, health, and opportunities for all at vspvision.com.

 

About the American Diabetes Association

The American Diabetes Association (ADA) is the nation’s leading voluntary health organization fighting to bend the curve on the diabetes epidemic and help people living with diabetes thrive. For 81 years, the ADA has driven discovery and research to treat, manage, and prevent diabetes while working relentlessly for a cure. Through advocacy, program development, and education, we aim to improve the quality of life for the over 133 million Americans living with diabetes or prediabetes. Diabetes has brought us together, what we do next will make us Connected for Life. To learn more or to get involved, visit us at diabetes.org or call 1-800-DIABETES (1-800-342-2383). Join the fight with us on Facebook (American Diabetes Association), Spanish Facebook (Asociación Americana de la Diabetes), Twitter (@AmDiabetesAssn), and Instagram (@AmDiabetesAssn).

 

[1] Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. “The Facts, Stats, and Impacts of Diabetes.” Diabetes. April 15, 2022. https://www.cdc.gov/diabetes/library/spotlights/diabetes-facts-stats.html#:~:text=Key%20findings%20include%3A,t%20know%20they%20have%20it.

[2] Monthly Averages (Jan. 01 – Dec. 31, 2021) based on VSP Vision Care Find a Doctor web traffic.

 

SUBSCRIBE

RSS FEED ALERTS SHARE

MEDIA CONTACT

Tatiana Stewart
707.631.8906

RECENT RELEASES